Alaska Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities 2015 logo

2015 Governor's Awards for the Arts and Humanities
from left: Roger Schmidt for Sitka Fine Arts Camp, Annette Evans Smith, Les Matz,
Dr. Rosita Worl for Sealaska Heritage Institute,  Aldona Jonaitis, Dr. Talis Colberg,
Aaron Leggett, Margo Klass, Gov. Bill Walker, Donna Walker,
Nora Marks Dauenhauer, Frank Soos and Allison Warden
photo by Seanna O'Sullivan Photography

Governor’s Awards for the Arts

  • Arts Education Award:
    Leslie Matz, Fine Arts Department Chair, Dimond High School, Anchorage
  • Individual Artist:
    Margo Klass, Visual Artist, Fairbanks
  • Arts Organization:
    Sitka Fine Arts Camp, Sitka
  • Alaska Native Arts:
    Sealaska Heritage Institute, Juneau

Governor’s Awards for the Humanities

  • Dr. Talis Colberg, Campus Director, University of Alaska Mat-Su College, Palmer
  • Annette Evans Smith, President and CEO, Alaska Native Heritage Center, Anchorage
  • Dr. Aldona Jonaitis, Director, University of Alaska Museum of the North, Fairbanks
  • Allison Warden, Interdisciplinary Artist and Founder/Artistic Director at Uyalunaq, Anchorage

Alaska State Writer Laureate

  • Frank Soos, Professor Emeritus, University of Alaska, Fairbanks

View the complete list of past recipients of the Governor’s Awards for the Arts.

View the list of past State Writer Laureate appointees.