State of Alaska
Milken Educator Awards


The Milken Family Foundation, in cooperation with the Alaska Department of Education & Early Development, sponsors the Milken Educator Awards program. Alaska has participated in the program since 1990. Since then more than 50 Alaska teachers and principals have received the honor. In addition, 44 other states also team up with the Milken Family Foundation to honor educators annually. The program recognizes both elementary and secondary educators, but annually alternates the award program between both groups. The program’s goal is to elevate the education profession by increasing public recognition and support of outstanding educators.

Following guidelines established by the Milken Foundation, the Department of Education & Early Development sets up a process to identify and evaluate educators for the award. The department then appoints a blue ribbon review team to make final recommendations. The Milken organization makes the final selections based on the team’s recommendations. The program includes neither an application nor a nomination procedure. Predetermined criteria for the award include expert pedagogy; distinguished achievement in developing innovative curricula; outstanding ability to instill students with sound values; and commitment to professional development and excellence.

Alaska Milken Educator

  • 2014 - Jenna White, Physical Education Teacher, Orion Elementary School, Anchorage School District
  • 2013 - Molly Yerkes, Dzantik’i Heeni Middle School, Juneau School District
  • 2011 - Matthew Elfstrom, Romig Middle School, Anchorage School District

Milken Educator Awards Recipients

From 1990 to Present

For more information, please contact:

Alaska Department of Education & Early Development
Alaska Milken Educator Awards
ATTN: Cecilia Miller, Program Coordinator
Telephone: (907) 465-8703